Tags

, , ,

First and foremost I want to welcome everyone to the first edition of Venturing Vancouver with me, The Broad.  As you all know, this site is called “A View from A Broad: A not too distant perspective”. This portion of my blog site is dedicated to Vancouver hot spots and hidden treasures in terms of restaurants, lounges, bars and clubs.   It’s a touristy feel from a not so touristy individual.   Hence, my tag line.

 Have you ever wanted to have the full Belgian experience? Now I am not just talking about  a great selection of great Belgian Beer, but the full on restaurant feel. Well, ladies and gentlemen, I give Chambar. Located just a couple blocks down from GM Place on 562 Beatty Street, just off the Stadium Station, it’s a quaint place to have some chew and down some brew.  

 The food is amazing, here are some of my suggestions:

Poires et prosciutto
Prosciutto & grilled bosc pear salad. Sauteed oyster mushrooms, hazelnut vinaigrette

This is a fantastic salad, full of diverse flavour. A very chic and tasteful presentation you get the works.

Le canard aux epices
Five
spice rub duck breast. Butternut and ricotta gnocci. Apple and quince gastrique.

I am a bit of a duck fan, but it’s hard to find a duck done ‘right’. I have had this menu item a few times, and it’s been consistent and perfect each time.  Definitely my favourite poultry item.

Chambar is probably best known for their fantastic lounge atmosphere, where you can relax, have few laughs and feel absolutely ‘at home’ while you do so, not to mention, a great selection of Belgian hops.

Here are a few to try out:

PALM – Slightly sweet, clear amber colour with a touch of apricot and malt. 33 cl 5.5%

WITTEKERKE – Oats give unique silkiness, earl grey and orange peel bouquet. 33 cl 5.0%

DUVEL – A classic, the original strong amber ale. Fluffy white head, sweet, dry finish. 33 cl 8.5%

BORNEM TRIPEL – Dried chamomile smell, perfect sweet¥bitter balance, malty finish. 33 cl 9.0%

KRIEK – Rested with sour cherries. Clean, tart and refreshing. (draught) 25 cl 5.5%

All fairly reasonably priced for the atmosphere, service and great menu. It’s definitely my choice for a Belgian hot spot in our fair city.  Not to mention, it’s in a very trendy yet historic building, much of what you’d see in Brussels itself.

I highly recommend to all Belgian beer fans, to give this place a shot, it’s an experience you’ll relish. In fact I’ll go as far to invite my two most discriminating beer critics, Spidey  from Toronto and T-Mac from Chicago. Next time you’re in town, I’ll make sure you try this place out…and you will not regret you did.

Chambar * 562 Beatty Street* 604 879 7119  www.chambar.com 

That’s Venturing Vancouver…A View from A Broad…a not too distant perspective.

Justine Galo

thebroad@aviewfromabroad.ca

